Connect with us

ICC announced a record prize money for T20 World Cup 2024

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle, The brand ambassador of the T20 World Cup. Photo: ICC


The International Cricket Council(ICC) have announced a record-breaking prize money of $11.25 million for the T20 World Cup 2024, hosted by West Indies and the USA.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup winner team will receive at least $2.45 million, while the runners-up team will get at least $1.28 million. This is the highest prize money in the history of the event.

The losing semi-finalists will get $787,500 each. Teams that do not advance past the second round will receive $382,500 each, and those finishing between ninth and 12th place in the tournament will get $247,500 each.

Teams which completed the tournament from 13thh to 20th place will take home $225,000. Apart from the Semi-final and final, Every team will receive an extra $31,154 for each match won.

Read more: Shanto wants support from Shakib-Mahmudullah in difficult times

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice remarked on the prize money for the T20 World Cup 2024, “This event is historic in so many ways, so it is fitting that the prize money for players reflects that. Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be entertained by the players in what we’re hoping to be an Out of This World event.”

The ninth edition of the T20 World Cup started with 20 teams for the first time in the history of the event. The tournament also includes 40 matches in the first round, leading to the Super 8s, followed by the semi-finals in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana. The final match will take place at the Kensington Oval in Barbados, where the 2024 men’s champions will be crowned and the highest prize money will be earned.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket